Visit Beautiful Historic Tunkannock, Pennsylvania
Twigs Cafe Restaurant's Hometown of Tunkhannock
A Proud Past and an Endless future nestled along the Susquehanna River on scenic Historic Route 6, Tunkhannock is a slice of small-town America. Tree-lined streets, stately Victorian homes, charming store reflect a history that dates back 200 years.
The Name Tunkhannock
Native America Artifact/Susquehanna River Click
The name Tunkhannock bears witness to the region's earliest native American inhabitants. Meaning "small stream of rapid water", archeological digs revealed native American settlements, along the Tunkhannock Creek, that date back to pre-Columbian times.
Colonists from Connecticut arrived as early as 1760 but were driven out by warring Delaware Indians. Further settlements proved unsuccessful, until General Sullivan's historic march against the Delaware Tribes in 1779. The first families to return to the banks of the Tunkhannock Creek were the Marcy's and Billings'. They named their new township Putnam, in honor of General Isaac Putnam. The fertile land and idyllic setting drew more and more colonists. In 1786, the township officially adopted the name Tunkhannock.
Wyoming County Courthouse
Wyoming County Courthouse - Click
Agriculture and lumber created a boom. In 1841, Tunkhannock was selected as the county seat for the newly created Wyoming County.
Residential homes radiated out from the Wyoming County Court House durning the mid to late 19th century, at the height of the area's residential development.
The Wyoming County Court House was first built as a two story brick building in 1843 and then re-designed into the three story Italian Villa style by architect D.R. Nott in 1870.
This architectural style became popular by the late 1860s. Its popularity was due to its being suitable for many different building materials and budgets, as well as the development of cast-iron and press-metal technology making the production of decorative elements like the brackets and cornices more efficient.